Go to next topic
graduating with low, LOW GPA
Last Post 09/07/2015 6:19 PM by HAHAHHA
28 Replies
AddThis - Bookmarking and Sharing Button

--

05/15/2013 3:20 PM
Author: JDidnt [21813]

I am graduating with a 2.17 gpa from a JD mill school. I am 250k in debt. I received a couple Ds and havent been able to recover. This whole experience has left me anxiety-filled and my self confidence has been all shot to hell. I have no legal work experience. I am not lazy but I have confidence issues that permeated throughout law school that affected my grades and networking, and hence internships, etc.

I know I am not below the average student- academically or intellectually.
Now, should I even bother to take the bar? Is there anyone out there who is/was in my shoes?

also, I have woken up every day regretting my decision to go to this particular law school. I want to do human rights work with my degree, not work at a big firm.

--
05/15/2013 3:52 PM
Author: mtbrider59 [21813]

Get a tutor before trying to take the bar, with a low GPA you will likely need to honeyour writing skills and legal knowledge to have a chance to pass. I'd say it would be worth it you might have to take a lower paying public interest job but you could still make a living while doing something you feel good about.

--
05/15/2013 4:34 PM
Author: Hastings [21813]

Hey, I'm sorry to hear that you're going through a rough patch, but all is not lost, buddy.

I went to Syracuse Law. It's a mid-tier school, nothing more.

I was a very lazy law student, I admit it. One of those people who just enjoyed the curve, graduated near the bottom of the class. I had a 2.7 GPA.

I was nervous prior to taking the Bar Exam, my main thought was, "I didn't take law school seriously enough, I barely learned anything, I just bullshitted my away through exams because I'm a good writer, how can I possible pass the Bar."