PrevPrev Go to previous topic
NextNext Go to next topic
anyone have experience in applying for and getting a fed job?
Last Post 10/07/2012 5:55 PM by the edge
5 Replies
AddThis - Bookmarking and Sharing Button
Sort:

--

09/29/2012 11:33 AM
Author: positivethinking [21813]

I wanted to know if anyone has experience with fed attorney job applications.

The deadline was sept 14th and I got an email that I was BEST QUALIFIED/PREFFERED and that a hiring person would contact me for an interview if selected out of the pool.

I know that I am very qualified for the position so I just wanted to know how long does it usually take to get contacted back, and if I am not getting an interview do they let you know?

Thanks!

--
09/29/2012 1:33 PM
Author: + [21813]

All the applicants are considered Best/Preferred Qualified for the job.

--
09/29/2012 8:33 PM
Author: smurf [21813]

I have lots of experience with applying for jobs, including fed jobs, but not so much experience with getting jobs. I had experience that was very relevant to lots of jobs, but was typically beat our by someone with more experience, and that had been practicing for a few years. So, as a bearer of bad news to come, if you are a recent grad, the job will be going to someone else.

--
09/30/2012 9:01 AM
Author: anon [21813]

Read the forums at fed soup or 911 jobs. Google them. Those forums will give you so much more insight than here. Not everyone is deemed best qualified or referred to the selection official, that is very good news. It is still possible you wont be interviewed, vet preference is a big factor. But enjoy the good news and read up on the forums for interview tips.

--
10/02/2012 11:18 AM
Author: Former Fed [21813]

All applications go through a screening that is done by a group of low-paid idiots. They screen you based on key words in your responses in the application.