Disbarment case discussion
Last Post 08/10/2018 7:50 AM by Dredd
3 Replies
AddThis - Bookmarking and Sharing Button
Sort:

--

02/16/2018 9:23 AM
Author: Kslade [21813]

I am a paralegal and have been brushing up on 1st Amendment issues.

I stumbled on a Supreme Court case where a man had been seen taking photos up unknowing women's skirts also known as "Upskirting".

The man appealed the case to the Supreme Court and he won.

COMMONWEALTH vs. Michael ROBERTSON.
SJC-11353.
Suffolk. November 4, 2013. - March 5, 2014.

He didn't win by denying he took the upskirt photographs. He won 'cause his attorney claimed it was his legal right to take those photos. It seemed to have come down to a loophole in Mass's Peeping Tom law which has since been amended.

The man basically proved that the Peeping Tom law only applies to people being photographed unknowingly while nude or partially nude in places like dressing rooms, and does not cover strangers in public settings that are clothed such as train passengers.

Another reason this case stood out is 'cause I remembered Stephen Colbert featured this man on his show a few years ago sarcastically call him a patriot who fought the good fight for peeping Toms.

The most surprising part for me was that the defendant was and is an attorney. He didn't argue his own case. But is licensed in the state where the incident occurred, working as a mediator. Either that or he has a twin brother with the same age and name working in Boston.

This case was extremely well known. It couldn't have went unnoticed by the bar.